Tags

Today’s craft was getting rid of the pile of old jeans taking up a corner of the craft room.

There really isn’t a pattern- I cut strips the width of my ruler, sewed them together like bias tape (diagonally) and sewed them to the center block. I pinned and cut the strips as I went, so I don’t have any precise measurements.

0531161435a

You’ll notice that the inner most rings are square, while the majority overlap the next ring. It was about 3 in the morning when I started this thing and that’s all I’m going to say. 🙂 I think I’ll cheat and buy some big blankets from walmart for the lining when it’s done.

Mom mentioned last week or so that our city is having a “crafters show”type thing soon. If I get around to finishing this near then, maybe I’ll enter. Call it a Life Quilt. We start small, make some mistakes, and learn from them. We start to make our own path, breaking away from the comfort we know. The diagonal seams are bumps in the road, unexpected deviations and complications and surprises as we travel the path. Ever increasing our experiences and  knowledge.

All told, I used up all the denim I had and it’s about 5 feet tall at the moment. I think I’ll bother my sister and see if she’s getting rid of any jeans. End goal would to make it so both Lady and I could curl up under it. A couple more rows I think…..

